No Two Ways About It, That’s Strange. (Part 2)

I think I’m pretty special. Because everywhere I go, I see amazing things that provide great ammunition for entertaining stories and snippets.

Today is no different. Just as I couldnt understand the fashion proclivities of this poor family, I would like to today share with you all the following photo, and ask the question, “Why?”

Now I’m not up on all the latest baby-grooming trends, and please correct me if I’m wrong, but I’m pretty sure this is not ok parenting behaviour.

For those of you who like some structure to your amusement, I give you some points to ponder:

  • The mother’s hair is fashionably styled and groomed neatly.
  • It has been about 100 degrees outside this week. The poor child.
  • Let’s give her the benefit of the doubt and say her hair is like Monica from Friends in ‘The One in Barbados’… Know your child and carry a couple of hair-ties with you for the unexpected event of humidity!
  • And most shocking of all.. What if she thinks it looks good…?

Thoughts, by all means.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. I sincerely hope you aren’t mocking a staple hairstyle of African American culture.

    Reply
    • I wouldnt dream of it! No offence meant at all. Just a little odd on a baby, and on a sweltering hot London bus come to that! Thanks for dropping by. 🙂

      Reply
  2. This baby likes being stylish.

    Reply
  3. Getting your hair done twisted or plaited (I can’t see what she has from the picture) like the mother takes ages and can be very uncomfortable. I see kids and adults around Brixton rocking natural hair like this all the time! A good entry point into learning about Afro-Caribbean hair is Chris Rock’s documentary “Good Hair”. It is light-hearted but explains how society sees Afro-Caribbean hair in its natural state as “bad hair”, how damaging that perception is, and what lengths some people go to to get “good hair”.

    Reply
    • Thanks for the info! I’m pretty sure her hair was just straightened, I cant remember now! Although I have to say, just judging from my own son’s curly locks this summer, having that natural afro cant be particularly comfortable for the kid either! R’s neck and forehead literally need cleaning about once an hour when we’re out and about. Hairdresser booked ASAP!

      Reply
  4. I think that baby’s hair is pretty cute.

    Reply
    • Adorable certainly. I think its pretty cute when my son puts a saucepan on his head, doesnt mean I’d take him on a bus that way! No offence meant, to each their own!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

