Hallo-what?

Just a fair warning to you all, I’m about to be a huge party-pooper.

From my extensive research, (30 second Wiki search) I see that Halloween has mostly unknown roots which are most probably pagan. No reason to keep celebrating it there then. So you cant pin this one on religion.

Apart from all the pointless customs, (carving pumpkins? what now?) it seems to be the only ‘holiday’ which has absolutely no emphasis on family time or any sort of kindness, which means you also cant validate it with tradition, or family values or morality of any kind at all for that matter.

From what I can tell, it is basically an excuse for teenagers to be rowdy and vandalise private property, all in disguise so there is no responsibility or consequences involved.

When it comes to younger children, I’m not denying that dressing up is fun, but why the need for it on a national level? Surely we all have dressing up boxes, and enough of our kids insist on going out dressed as fairies and superheroes as it is? The emphasis on ‘scariness’ is for the younger kids just frightening, and for the older ones- a huge pressure on parents to let kids that are still young ‘one-up’ one another with more gory and violent costumes. Add into the mix more sugar than your child should be having in a month, and all you end up with is hyperactive and often traumatised children.

All this would probably not bother me anywhere near as much if it wasn’t for my final pet peeve of the evening, tangentially related to the sugar overdosing. WHY are we giving out chocolate and sweets to children just because they are knocking on our doors? Surely in this age of super parenting awareness we should at the very least have updated it to “Trick or Treat please?” The whole idea of “You give me something for nothing, or I’m going to do something evil” whether that be egg or tee-pee your house, or just shout an obscenity and run away, is truly abhorrent to me, even if it were apples we were giving away. But to be filling a child’s outstretched arms with unhealthy and over the top junk food which they will either stuff in their faces too fast for their parents to monitor, or barter and fight over with their siblings, is enough to scare me senseless even without the costumes.

 

Hocus Pocus: The only good thing to come out of Halloween in my opinion.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Lucky Bay

     /  October 31, 2012

    I agree that handing out candy for nothing is probably not sending a very good message these days. But I think even though Halloween isn’t based solely on family or the giving spirit or any one specific thing besides candy, I have some very fond memories with my family from Halloween traditions we always did. So, it could be turned into a family focused holiday. I think it just depends. Or maybe having a holiday just for the fun of it isn’t all that bad?

    Reply
    • I agree that fun is important, I’m not totally dead inside! And of course, some families Halloween is probably entirely harmless and full of good mannered family fun. But on a grander scale, the messages and activity on Halloween seems at best, shallow and meaningless; at worst, damaging to all involved.

      As a side point, why does it seem that nowadays families cant make great memories together without an enforced date for it?

      Thanks so much for stopping by and for your comments! Happy Halloween! 😉

      Reply
      • Lucky Bay

         /  November 1, 2012

        I didn’t really think of the enforced date aspect of making family time memorable. Very valid point!

        I’m going to do some research about Halloween. I know it was pagan, but like you asked, where does pumpkin carving come from or handing out treats? Now you’ve made me curious.

        Thanks for the thought provoking post!

  2. muddymonkeysmama

     /  October 31, 2012

    I would have to disagree with you on this one. Halloween can seem fairly silly. But thinking about how kids develop and face scary things, death and fear, Halloween is a way for kids to embrace the scary in a safe way and develop a healthy way of dealing with it. A classic example is the Day of the Dead in Mexico as well as other cultures. This is a way to celebrate ancestors, face and embrace death.

    All of these celebrations are traced back to indigenous and pagan rituals. (The one we connect Halloween to are from the Western Europeans who would have a huge celebration of the passing of the season or the “death” of nature until its rebirth in the spring. It was really cool. They would have a huge bonfire and celebrate through the night.)

    The candy part is just a bonus 🙂

    Reply
    • That’s all really interesting! Thanks 🙂

      I would argue that Halloween doesn’t really seem to connect to our ancestors in any real way. And I’m not sure I need my son coming to terms with zombies and werewolves.

      Reply
  3. Just so you know, the pagans left food outside their doors to keep evil spirits away. They were believed to come around this time of year and no one wanted them to come into their homes and that was the purpose of the food. Now I don’t know if the food was gone the next morning, but maybe the poorer neighbors would help themselves on that night. It is believed that’s where the custom of handing out candy came from. There are a lot of customs based on pagan beliefs such as saying, “God Bless you” when someone sneezes. The pagans believed it was a spirit trying to take control of your body and the sneeze was your bodies reaction was to toss it out.

    Reply
    • I’m not saying there aren’t any customs based on pagan beliefs, (although I believe Bless you comes from much earlier than that, it has biblical sources) I just feel like this particular tradition has no moral or inherent value in any way, and I dont understand why it has been adopted and traditionalised as if it is worthwhile!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

